What is a Mediterranean Style Diet Anyway?

So during my recent routine physical my doctor advised me that although I eat pretty healthy, engage in physical activity as suggested (…and then some), I still have borderline high cholesterol.  His suggestion?  He wanted me to start trying to eat a Mediterranean style diet.  So I did my research online.  Perused Pinterest for recipe ideas.  I’ve come to two conclusions.

  1. Most of these recipes call for olives (I HATE olives).  It is probably one of the only normal food items that I will NOT eat.  I can cook with them to a point and use olive oil no problem, but the taste is awful to me.

olives-image2. This style of diet is so light to the point that it is not at all filling.  That is a problem when I am feeding not only myself, but N and his dad too!  Plus WE always make enough to eat the left overs for lunch the next day.

So in an effort to mix in some of these Mediterranean Style entrees, I will share with your our thought on them AND other regular recipes that I have adapted to fit our tastes.

Last week we tried these new recipes:

Chicken Asparagus Stir-fry with Tomatoes

Baked Salmon with Mediterranean Salsa Fresca and Couscous

Blueberry Cornmeal Waffles

On this week’s menu are the following new recipes:

Butternut Squash, Beef and Black Bean Enchilada Skillet

Tilapia Stuffed with Spinach and Feta

Philly Cheesesteak Stuffed Peppers

Chicken Stuffed Poblano & Red Peppers

You should be able to click on each recipe to see our take on it on my BigOven account.  I also link you to the original recipe from which I made fit my family’s taste preferences.  Please feel free to comment either here or there on what you liked and didn’t like.

What are some of your favorite weekday recipes?

About minic00

Just a mom, daughter, sister, runner, and friend navigating through everyday life. Trying to find my way, leaving a positive impact in those that I am fortunate enough to be close to.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

