Are You Getting Enough – Water Struggles

One of the things that people tend not to focus on when changing their eating habits, is also changing what you are drinking.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying to ONLY drink water.  What I am saying is to increase that consumption as you start working on eating healthier and working out.

I have to be truly honest here, I am the worst at drinking water.  I dislike it’s lack of flavor and the flavor drops taste so artificial to me that it just makes it worse.  I have struggled for about 3-4 years with finding a way to get more water in my system.  Once upon a time I would load up on juice (mainly cranberry juices).  As I have gotten older, I realize the amount of sugar in my drinks (including juice) and see how bad that can be for someone like me who gets very little water.

So I tried a few different things.  First I tried getting a BIG water jug to keep on my desk.  Though, soon I realized that I didn’t keep up with it, because it was too big to take with me in the car and to and from work.

water-jug64oz-extralarge

Then I tried getting on those electrolyte waters.  I tried some of the flavored ones to help me along the way.  I like them because they were not sweetened AT ALL.  Actually more infused type flavor.  But that can get expensive if you are buying and drinking several a day.

1529EC85-C290-29B7-40A15BE2E6E9F225

Then I decided to get a PUR pitcher and fill it with water and leave on the filing cabinet by my desk at work.  I prefer water room temperature and find it easier to drink.  I also found a water bottle that fit in my cup holder/workout bag/purse, you name it!  Funny enough it was a FREE water bottle from one of the races I ran in April.  This has kept me drinking more water than I probably have ever drank in my life!

IMAG00865

I have now been drinking water on a consistent basis for about 4 months.  I feel better, my skin feels hydrated and I crave very little else to drink at all.  I still have my tall cup of coffee every morning and the occasional glass of wine on the weekends.  But I have finally conquered my goal of drinking more water!

IMAG00866

How are you about getting enough water in your system?

Have you found a way to make it work for you?

Share in the comments below…

About minic00

Just a mom, daughter, sister, runner, and friend navigating through everyday life. Trying to find my way, leaving a positive impact in those that I am fortunate enough to be close to.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health & Nutrition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

