PiYo Day One

Today was a little bit of a shock to my system.  My day normally begins with my Fitbit alarm going off at 4:50 am followed by the alarm on my phone at 5 am and about 10-20 minutes of snoozing before I roll out of bed to start my day.  When my alarm went off at 4:50 am today, I get my workout clothes on and headed to the living room for day 1 of PiYo.

About halfway through the Alignment portion of PiYo, I realized quickly that I was going to need to do this barefoot.  My feet were shifting inside my shoes making certain movements a tad uncomfortable.  This first portion was VERY low impact.  If you have any prior yoga experience, you will know how to do a lot of this and will move this fairly easy.  I did break a very slight sweat, I actually can’t wait until this gets more challenging.  Challenges are the way we push ourselves to the next level!

Day one of PiYo completed!

Day one of PiYo completed!

The remainder of my morning went the same with showering, get clothes ironed, hair, make-up, letting the dogs out, waking up N and getting him dressed and fed before our 7:15 am exit.  On the way out the door I prepped my Shakeology with Almond milk, honey and a little ice.

Greenberry Shakeology with almond milk, honey and ice.

Greenberry Shakeology with almond milk, honey and ice.

As we were getting in the car I noticed the beautiful sunrise.  It made me feel like I was doing things right and that today was going to be a good day.  Once to work I drank my breakfast shake and then had a regular cup of joe to get my day started.  The Greenberry shake was different in flavor, almost a hint of Captain Crunch.  I need to try it on a more citrus-y level to see how I feel about it.  Also, I too my regular multivitamins this morning and noticed a bit of nausea.  After talking with my fitness coach I think it was vitamin overload with out an actual meal.  I am going to try taking them either with dinner or lunch to see if I feel better.

What a great sight to walk out to this morning!

What a great sight to walk out to this morning!

While on this journey I really want to see how my running is affected.  So today I set a benchmark.  I went for a 3.5 mile run at an average pace of 9:56 per mile.  As the next few weeks go by, I hope to see a real improvement in the time and distance of these runs.  The cooler weather doesn’t hurt either!

My lunch was leftover chicken thighs seasoned with Adobo and cooked with about a tablespoon of EVOO in a skillet.  I paired it with sauteed zucchini and tomatoes and a pear for “dessert”.  On the menu tonight I am thinking a sirloin with sauteed Brussels sprouts and diced sweet potatoes seasoned with cinnamon.

As I am scouring the web for great fresh food recipes, I will be sharing my findings.  I want to do best to minimize the amount of processed foods I feed my family and take them along on this journey with me.

Did you get a good workout in?

What is your go to fresh food recipe?

I can’t wait for tomorrow!

About minic00

Just a mom, daughter, sister, runner, and friend navigating through everyday life. Trying to find my way, leaving a positive impact in those that I am fortunate enough to be close to.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Fitness, Health & Nutrition, PiYo, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

