Chicken Dinner – PiYo Morning

Last night I decided to try a new recipe at the inspiration off of one of my wonderful friend/cousin’s blog.  She claimed that this Baked Tomato Chicken on Spinach was a huge hit in her house!  Getting my family to eat veggies is really not a challenge in my home, but finding new ways of preparing them so I don’t get tired of them is!  I decided to make a few adjustments to what she served to my family’s tastes.  (N’s dad’s allergies flare up with too much sage or basil).

IMAG00911I also decided to add bell peppers and minced garlic to the veggies I sauteed to go along with the chicken.

IMAG00912

Low and behold, this was a hit at my house too!  When N’s dad walked in he asked what I was making, cause the house smelled good!  That is ALWAYS a good sign.  He even offered up a few suggestions.  I love when I get feedback from my family, as I will eat just about anything.  He asked that I use MORE spinach next time because it was so good and to maybe try putting some chicken stock in with the veggies when sauteing them.  So I have listed my version below.  Hopefully when you click on it, you can see it larger and print it out on one sheet!

Baked Tomato Chicken on Spinach with Sauteed VeggiesThis morning was a challenge as of last night.  But I am committed to showing you all progress and will not succumb to my own petty excuses!  I went to bed with a headache that started around 3 pm.  10:30 pm and two doses of pain relief later, I gave in to sleep.  After a not so restful night of sleep, I did wake up with out the headache.  Though I was just a bit tired.

I got ready and went to the living room for day 3 of PiYo, Define: Upper Body.  I was quite surprised for a third day in a row how “easy” this was.  On some moves and I am doing the modified version, as my core does not have the strength for all of the moves… YET.  I feel like I need to clarify my use of the word easy.  While doing these workouts I do challenge myself to my full potential, but the moves themselves are not difficult and very low impact.  In pushing myself, I can tell you that I can feel that good ache in my core all day long when it is engaged.  This tells me that this is working!  I’m doing something that is strengthening my muscles and causing me to have that hurt-so-good kind of feeling.

Congratulations!  Those of you following along get to see the 5-am-no-make-up Amanda post workout selfie!

Congratulations! Those of you following along get to see the 5-am-no-make-up Amanda post workout selfie!

Once done, I decided that I felt good today.  Time to fully commit to the day and pack my bag for a lunch time run.  So I got ready for work and packed my running clothes. On my way out the door with N, I made my breakfast Shakeology.  Changing it up once again to keep myself interested.  Today I mixed the Greenberry Shakeology with 1 cup of water, 4 strawberries, 1/4 cup of blueberries and 2 tbsp of lemon juice.  It was kind of like a Berry Lemonade Shake.  Now I did blend it with a little ice in my little counter top blender, and note to self this recipe gets very frothy!  It started spilling over when I opened it.  Next time I will make it with time to let it sit and settle a little so that it doesn’t get everywhere!

IMAG00915

Today’s lunch will be the delicious leftovers from last night.  But tonight we are trying something new yet again!  I am going to try my hand at a Shrimp Scampi over Zucchini “Noodles” and some Corn with Peppers and Sliced Avocado.  Who knows, maybe I will be energized enough to whip up a few deviled eggs too!

What new recipes have you tried?

How do you make sure that your family and you get full servings of vegetables everyday?

Tell me your secrets, you know I telling you mine!

About minic00

Just a mom, daughter, sister, runner, and friend navigating through everyday life. Trying to find my way, leaving a positive impact in those that I am fortunate enough to be close to.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Family Life, Fitness, Health & Nutrition, PiYo, Recipes, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

