Open Your Door

As I have been telling you all about this journey, I did not tell the people living in my own home.  Why?  No good reason really.  I had it blown up in my head that N’s dad would tell me that it was stupid, or a waste of time, or just not supportive.  Guess what, those were all the things I was putting into my own head and projecting onto someone else.  I had to make someone the “bad guy”, when all along I was the one with doubts.

Don't Chase

People you might think would support you, just might be the ones to help you.  Open the door and give them a chance.  When I finally told him what I was doing, he asked why I thought he would not be positive.  My answer: “I have no reason.  You’ve never tried to discourage me from getting in shape.”  Showing myself that I did all that to myself in my head.  A full week of dodging questions of what I was doing and why.  A week of NOT sharing my experience and welcoming encouragement that was there all along.

After coming clean, last night went so smoothly it was great!  With the Dallas Cowboys and Texas Rangers both playing games yesterday, game day food was happening all around me.  N’s dad asked me about pizza, I declined.  When his buddy arrived toting pizza he kindly asked what I was going to eat letting his friend know what I was doing.  This helped me stay true to my commitment and make myself an equally satisfying dinner without all of the grease and carbs of pizza.

Life Change

While I am still struggling changing my eating habits to High Fat Low Carb (HFLC), I already feel better after a week of this kind of eating and drinking a Shakeology each day.  I have more energy, and I am falling asleep and staying asleep better.  I’ve already lost a few pounds and a few inches.  I am actually looking forward to adding inches in my arms, as I have always had a very weak upper body and am hoping for a little more tone and muscle.

Week 1 Progress

Week 1 Progress

Today I got my PiYo Sweat workout in and felt much better than when I did it for the first time last week.  I’m looking up at the video less and listening and following the moves with more ease.  Now let’s not lie, I’m still doing the assisted version on some of the moves, but it will get better as I get stronger.


PiYo CHALLENGE PACK: DEFINE YOURSELF AND TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THIS SPECIAL INTRODUCTORY OFFER!

Now I want to commit to a second month of PiYo.  I would love to get a group of people who want to try this together into an online group to help hold each other accountable.  If you are interested, I would love to talk to you about.

What will you do for yourself today?

About minic00

Just a mom, daughter, sister, runner, and friend navigating through everyday life. Trying to find my way, leaving a positive impact in those that I am fortunate enough to be close to.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Family Life, Fitness, Health & Nutrition, PiYo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Open Your Door

  1. Alice Janell says:

    Isn’t it funny how sometimes it’s easier to share our journeys with strangers/the internet than it is with our own loved ones? Ted’s never discouraged me — in fact, he’s VERY supportive and encouraging of everything I want to do, and yet I still sometimes find it difficult to talk to him about changes I want to make — and 99.999% of it is just in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

