What is PiYo?

Over the last few weeks I have been posting about my fitness journey, talking about eating high fat-low carb style, and drinking one Shakeology a day as a meal replacement.  My hope is that anyone with questions or doubts can ask me… a real person, parent, 8am-5pm career person… any questions that they may have about what I am doing.

Many of you have heard of Shakeology, and whether you know it or not, you probably know someone who drinks them once a day.  I started out with the most disliked flavor (in my opinion) to see if I could stomach this once a day EVERYDAY.  Guess what?  When my bag of Greenberry came, it included a sheet with 30 different recipes on ways to make your shake.  Can I tell you, that I have not had one yet that made me not want to finish it.  While I will admit, it is not my favorite flavor, I now know what I have gotten myself into.  Not only did this replace the cost of one meal a day ($6 x 30 days = $180, at minimum), it also cut out what I spend on the four different vitamins that I take daily ($8.99 x 4 = $35.96).  But I will discuss Shakeology more in depth another day.

Shakeology

I keep posting about eating avocados and bacon daily.  How can I being doing that and still losing weight?  Well the answer is a little more complex. In the 70’s, the USDA produced new eating guidelines where they advised us how bad fat is for us and how we should instead be eating more whole grains.  Going from eating higher fats and proteins to majorily carbohydrates. We have been told that carbs are essential for your health and energy levels. Telling us also that fat would only cause you to get fat and cause heart disease.  Now if you look around, you see that in 40 years we are more diabetic, obese and more at risk of heart disease.  So where was the science behind this?  What was the science behind this?  So going back to eating the way we did before everything became so overly processed and diseases/obesity were not so rampant.  Check out this video shedding some light on a LCHF lifestyle.   But again, we can talk more about this another day.  We are here to answer the question of “What is PiYo?”

LCHF

The company that developed PiYo is one that you already know and may have even used one of their other products.  Beachbody also offered you workouts like P90X, Hip-Hop Abs, Insanity, the list just goes on and on.  Everyone finds certain workouts easier to stick with than others.  So offering up a wide range of products tailored to different personal workout preferences.  I chose PiYo to begin my journey as it most aligned with what I was looking for.  I was already running a few times a week.  I wanted something to help me get stronger in my core and stretch & strengthen my body all over.  What attracted me even more was the promise of no jumping and low impact.  Meaning I don’t need to strap myself into high impact sports bras!  Going onto week 3 of these workouts have made me feel amazing!  I have lost weight and inches and notice other subtle differences.  My core is tighter, even when I am relaxing.  I sit straighter at my desk without even thinking about it.  I feel more stretched when going for a run.  All of this in 20-40 minutes a day, what more could I want?

http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9?isVid=1

Beachbody describes PiYo as:

  • “PiYo is a low-impact, high-intensity body-transformation program that uses the most effective Pilates- and yoga-inspired moves to sculpt long, lean muscles and burn fat.
  • Trainer Chalene Johnson uses fluid movements, keeping you in constant motion to give you a dynamic cardio workout that typical Pilates or yoga workouts lack.
  • It’s low-impact so you won’t have to jump around or strain your joints.
  • It’s high-intensity so you get the fat-burning results of a more extreme program.
  • It’s designed to help you get an intensely defined, long and lean physique.”

So what questions do you have?

Where do you want your body to be 30, 60, 90 days from now?

What are you doing to get there?

About minic00

Just a mom, daughter, sister, runner, and friend navigating through everyday life. Trying to find my way, leaving a positive impact in those that I am fortunate enough to be close to.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Fitness, Health & Nutrition, PiYo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

